The beautiful church of Holy Cross is located in a tranquil setting on the side of Owlpen's wood valley. It stands above the ancient Tudor Manor house in a remote and beautiful position which has long been recognised as one of the treasures of Cotswold scenery.
Comments in our log book show that visitors to Holy Cross are amazed and delighted by the boldness and brilliance of the mosaics - Victorian in the Chancel, Edwardian in the Baptistry - which are unique among Cotswold churches. Strangers also praise the peacefulness of its position. Retired Assistant Churchwarden Duff Hart-Davis agrees:
The Church of the Holy Cross takes its name from the Cross on which Jesus was crucified. The cross on which our Lord was crucified has become the universal symbol for Christians, replacing the fish symbol of the early church, though the latter has been revived in recent times. The Feast of the Holy Cross is remembered on September 14th. Please click here to find out more...
The Church of the Holy Cross at Owlpen is of medieval origins, and was enlarged in the nineteenth century in two phases. First the nave was rebuilt by Samuel Manning in 1828. Then the chancel was added in 1874 by J.P. St Aubyn, and “beautified” with mosaics and opus sectile designed by Charles Hardgrave in 1887. The baptistery was the final addition of 1912, when the Romanesque font was re-erected from use as a cattle trough. With its richly textured interior of stained glass mosaics and floor tiles by some of the leading craftsmen of the time, Owlpen church is according to David Verey “the most elaborate Victorian-Edwardian interior in the Cotswolds”.